## Epsilon Sigma Phi Eta Chapter Minutes November 7, 2007 Laramie, Wyoming

The meeting was called to order at 7:05am by vice-president, Bill Taylor.

Vicki Hayman volunteered to take minutes in the absence of a secretary.

Members attending the meeting were: Randy Anderson, Cole Ehmke, Gene Gade, Patti Griffith, Vicki Hayman, Phyllis Lewis, Mary Martin, Chris Pasley, Suzy Pelican, Rhonda Shipp, and Bill Taylor.

The minutes of the previous meeting (September 28, 2006---Worland, Wyoming) were read by Bill Taylor. Phyllis Lewis made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Randy Anderson. The motion passed.

The report from treasurer Chris Pasley was presented. Chris reported that Phil Rosenlund and Stella McKinstry paid life dues. Bill Taylor noted that Milt Green will also rejoin the Eta Chapter this year. Dues for 2008 are \$45 for annual members, \$50 for new members and \$200 for life membership. Vicki Hayman made a motion to approve the report and the motion was seconded by Patti Griffith. The motion passed.

Bill Taylor read the JCEP report written by President Ron Cunningham.

Mary Martin proposed the Wyoming Eta Chapter host the National Meeting of ESP in Jackson during 2010. National ESP proposed the meeting be scheduled sometime during the first two weeks in October of 2010. Discussion ensued. Bill Taylor will check with UW CES administration to see if they are in favor of hosting the 2010 ESP national meeting. Bill will also see if it is possible to use Conferences and Institutes for this event. If approved, Bill will give Mary Martin the approval to move forward with the RFP site requests. Mary Martin made a motion to host the National ESP Meeting in Jackson, WY during 2010. The motion was seconded by Chris Pasley and passed. It was agreed to work as a committee of the whole and then have the President appoint sub committees as needed.

As ESP Professional Improvement Committee chair, Vicki Hayman, reported that the grant was not awarded for this year. Discussion ensued. It was agreed that she will submit the grant again for 2008. The committee members will include Patti Griffith, Phyllis Lewis and Susan James.

Mary Martin and Chris Pasley reported on the Chapter Award winners given this year. The winners will be listed in an addendum at the end of the minutes. Vice-president, Bill Taylor, asked that the new secretary work with Randy Anderson to put a past award winners list, chapter officers, and the by-laws on the local website. Randy agreed to work with the new secretary to complete this task. Bill and Mary emphasized that the chapter award is only the first step.

Chapter winners are encouraged to fill out the regional and national applications available on the ESP website and submit for advanced awards.

Bill Taylor read How to *Rebuild Your Chapter* ESP newsletter article. Discussion was held on rebuilding and strengthening the Eta chapter. The committee members will be Phyllis Lewis (chair), Gene Gade, Chris Pasley, and Randy Anderson. Ronda Shipp agreed to develop a 30 second elevator speech for ESP.

Elections were held for Chapter President, Vice-President, and Secretary. Cole Ehmke was the only nomination for president and was elected by acclamation. Mary Martin was nominated for vice-president and elected by unanimous vote. Gene Gade was nominated to complete Steve Schafer's term as secretary and elected by unanimous vote. The ESP Eta Chapter Officers for 2008 are:

President Cole Ehmke
Vice-Pres Mary Martin
Secretary Gene Gade
Treasurer Chris Pasley

The ESP Secretary and Treasurer positions will be elected at the fall 2008 meeting.

Ron Cunningham and Bill Taylor were honored with "thank-you's" and for serving as the President and Vice-president of ESP Eta Chapter.

The meeting adjourned at 8:15am.

Minutes and Addendum Respectfully Submitted By: Vicki Hayman, ESP (Eta Chapter) Acting Secretary

## **ADDENDUM**

**ESP** 

Recognition

## 2007 EPIC Awards Banquet:

Friend of Extension Western Dairy Council

Distinguished Service Award Randy Anderson

Diversity/Multicultural Recognition Living on the Land

Cole Ehmke Milt Green John Hewlett Bill Taylor

Mid-Career Service Recognition Suzy Pelican

Early-Career Service Recognition Cole Ehmke

Team Recognition EVOLVE

Roger Coupal Cole Ehmke Milt Green Mary Martin Rhonda Shipp Bill Taylor Duane Williams

Continued Excellence Recognition Rhonda Shipp

Visionary Leadership Recognition Jim Gill